Choosing a program

DNP vs DNAP: Does It Matter for CRNAs?

DNP vs DNAP for CRNA school: what each degree means, whether it changes your practice, how many programs award each, and dual DNP and AGACNP programs.

Updated October 2026 · Reviewed by Nelson, CRNA · Checked against official sources

A DNP (Doctor of Nursing Practice) and a DNAP (Doctor of Nurse Anesthesia Practice) both lead to CRNA certification and practice. For clinical practice, the degree name makes little difference: your certification and state license define what you can do.

The differences are in focus, the school that awards the degree and some later career options. This page explains them and shows how many programs award each.

Why every CRNA program is now a doctorate

The COA requires that students accepted into accredited entry-level programs on or after January 1, 2022 graduate with a doctoral degree. Its standards say the curriculum must award a DNP or a DNAP, unless the COA approves a waiver.

So you don't choose between a master's and a doctorate any more. You choose between programs that award a DNP and programs that award a DNAP.

What each degree is

DNP

The DNP is a nursing practice doctorate used across many advanced practice nursing roles. The American Association of Colleges of Nursing called for advanced practice nursing education to move to the DNP in 2004. A nurse anesthesia DNP adds the full anesthesia curriculum and clinical training to the DNP's core content. Some programs call it a DNP with a nurse anesthesia specialty, shown as DNP-NA.

DNAP

The DNAP is a practice doctorate specific to nurse anesthesia. It covers the same COA-required anesthesia content. Its doctoral coursework and project focus on anesthesia rather than on nursing practice more broadly.

What they have in common

  • Both meet the same COA accreditation standards.
  • Both prepare you for the NBCRNA National Certification Examination (NCE).
  • Both require doctoral-level scholarly work.
  • Most programs of either type run about 36 months. See how long CRNA school takes.

How many programs award each

Everything CRNA's School Finder data (October 2026) shows these degree types across the 154 accredited programs:

Degree Programs
DNP 99
DNP with nurse anesthesia specialty (DNP-NA) 13
DNP plus adult-gerontology acute care NP (DNP + AGACNP) 4
DNAP 38

That's 116 DNP-type programs and 38 DNAP programs. The COA's July 2026 list, which includes a few programs that have since closed, shows a similar split.

Does the degree affect the exam or your practice?

Certification exam

NBCRNA data for 2025 shows both groups pass at similar rates. Among first-time NCE takers:

Degree Share of first-time takers First-time pass rate, 2025
DNP 68.1% 90.3%
DNAP 31.8% 91.1%

The NBCRNA says these differences should be read with caution. Program quality matters far more than the degree name. Compare programs on our highest NCE pass rates page.

Clinical practice

Your ability to practice as a CRNA comes from passing the NCE, holding CRNA certification and meeting your state's licensing rules. Employers hire CRNAs, and the degree letters rarely change your clinical role. Check your state's rules through our board of nursing directory.

This is general information, not legal advice.

Pay

There's no reliable public data showing that one degree pays more than the other. Pay depends far more on location, setting and contract type. See CRNA salary.

Where the difference can matter

  • Teaching and leadership. If you might move into nursing education or nursing leadership, a DNP can fit better, since it's a nursing degree. Check job postings in roles you're interested in.
  • Other advanced practice roles. If you want to work as both a CRNA and a nurse practitioner, look at dual DNP + AGACNP programs. Ask about certification eligibility, length and clinical requirements for each role.
  • Program fit. The school awarding the degree shapes the culture, resources and clinical sites. That often matters more than the degree title.

How to choose

Most applicants should choose the program first and the degree second. Compare:

If you already hold a master's in nurse anesthesia and want a doctorate, see our post-master's DNP and DNAP guide.

FAQ

Is a DNP or DNAP better for CRNAs?

Neither is better for clinical practice. Both lead to the same certification. A DNP may suit you better if you see yourself in broader nursing leadership or education.

Can a DNAP graduate be called "doctor"?

Both are doctoral degrees. How you may use the title in clinical settings depends on your state's rules and your employer's policy, so check both.

Are there still master's-level CRNA programs?

Not for new students. The COA requires students accepted on or after January 1, 2022 to graduate with a doctorate.

What does a DNP + AGACNP program lead to?

It combines nurse anesthesia training with acute care nurse practitioner preparation. Confirm with the program which certification exams you'll be eligible for and when.

Sources

Degrees awarded by CRNA programs
DNP: 115DNAP: 38Other or not stated: 1154total
  • DNP 115 (75%)
  • DNAP 38 (25%)
  • Other or not stated 1 (1%)

Free monthly update

New programs, deadlines and pay data, once a month

No spam. Unsubscribe any time.